Last minute election thoughts

Helen Clarke is not the only one who doesn’t look like her posters. Nikki Kaye looks about 16 in real life (I saw her from the bus on Wednesday morning and Thursday afternoon).

I don’t see a reason to assume that Clarke’s photos were retouched. I think people underestimate what you can do with makeup, lighting and a good camera.

I spoke to Viv Goldsmith (Labour, East Coast Bays) this morning. We had a discussion on school donations. Some schools are excluding children from events because their parents haven’t paid the “optional” donation. That’s not on. Sherwood and Northcross charge separate activity fees for events, and there are options to get those fees reduced. Viv has made in-kind donations to schools rather than pay the donation in the past. She also pointed out that Westlake Boys would be a lot less dependent on donations if they took more than 40% of their students from in-zone.

So, voting tomorrow. I’m going to vote for Viv Goldsmith, but my party vote is going to the Greens.

I haven’t voted in person in 16 years (John Major’s 1992 re-election), unless there was a council or European election between then and when I left the UK in 1994 which I’ve forgotten. I voted for a losing candidate then, as I did in Cambridge in 1987.

Dan has my proxy vote now. I don’t know if he’ll use a postal vote, or if he’ll drive up from Cambridge to St. Ives to vote.

One Response to “Last minute election thoughts”

  1. Pam Thiede Says:

    Go Rupie,
    The only way that we have an impact, other than running for office, is to have a say in the elections, and in the issues running up to them. I admire your contribution. Please don’t forget us here in the States.

    Pam

Leave a Reply

